Simplicity Story: Dori’s Kentucky Homestead

Re-posted from April 2012

When I called my friend, Dori, to set up a visit, while we were in Louisville, I told her that I couldn’t wait to see her house.

“Oh, it’s not much,” she said. “It’s small…You know, it’s totally you. You’ll love it!”

Sure enough, she’s living one of my two dream lives. When I grow up, I want to either homestead or live aboard full time. Dori has got quite the almost-off-the -grid homestead going.

As we entered the house, she explained, “We’re redoing the drywall in the laundry room…and the baby chickens are in there.”

Makes sense to me.

The house itself is Amish-built, and heated by a woodstove. The furnishings are modest–minimalistic, to be sure. The bedroom is a loft located upstairs, with plenty of room for three full-sized beds. Next to the kitchen is a “birth and death room,” where the sick and new mothers would be cared for. Dori and her husband are converting this to a sewing room. There is a well-stocked pantry, filled with dry goods that Dori is able to purchase from the nearby Amish store when they are on sale.

Dori and her husband have four children, ranging in age from 2 to 10. What do they do, with such limited space in the house? They can be found outside, jumping on the trampoline, chasing the chickens, feeding the pigs, exploring the forest, or getting into mischief in the pond. Beanie was immediately assimilated into their collective, and followed them wherever they went. She was engaged the whole time, and was even talking to them by the time we left.

Here are some pictures from my visit:

Beanie and her new little buddy. They held hands the entire time!

Inside the chicken pen. The birds were free to come and go as they pleased, and the result was VERY positive–the BEST eggs I’ve ever eaten!

Chasing the chickens

Dori and me. (Yes, I am wearing my foul-weather jacket…Long story…)

The eldest–and ringleader! She kept a great eye on the Bean.

Their house–not glamorous, but elegant in its simplicity.

Chickens milling about the yard–why not?

I love pork, but I refuse to buy factory-farm meat. These pigs are treated wonderfully–meet Pork Chop, Ham, and Bacon!

Feeding time! No slop–just hormone-and-antibiotic-free feed and table scraps.

These are true free-range kids!

You need serious boots in this yard!

Look at this beautiful, antique “Porky” woodstove. MUCH better than DTE or Consumer’s!

Their house is wonderful, and simple. Their kids are healthy and happy. The scenery is beautiful, and the neighbors are friendly. If you can’t move onto the water and join us, you just might want to look for a house in Kentucky…

Are you working toward a simpler lifestyle?  Then I would love to share your story!  Please submit your original (not published anywhere else) story about how you are simplifying your life.  You don’t have to be an extreme minimalist–I would love to share stories of people who are just starting out of their journey.  If your story is selected to be featured, you will receive 50% off the the Simple Living Basics E-Course, after any other discounts.  Send your story to brosselit@gmail.com . 

New to Simple Living?  Then check out our Simple Living Basics e-course.  There are plenty of discounts available, and it will be an investment in a lower-stress more focused lifestyle!

2 thoughts on “Simplicity Story: Dori’s Kentucky Homestead

  1. I had dreams of living in the country on a large piece of land or on in a boat house when growing up. 🙂 Thought you should know none of your pictures are showing up.

Join the Discussion